RESOURCES & LINKS

Websites / Blogs / Discussions / Podcasts/ Articles on or related to Blues dancing:


Damon Stone: A blog about the cultural artform of Blues idiom dance: http://damonstone.dance/

Blues and Jazz Dance Book Club: A blog on this history and culture of Blues and Jazz music and dance: https://bluesjazzbookclub.com/

Blues Unlimited: The Radio Show (a podcast with insightful interviews and personal accounts of Blues artists and musicians weaved within the history and music of Blues): http://bluesunlimited.podomatic.com/ 
Sweet Choreography Blues: What Makes The Blues Work: https://sweetchoreographyblog.wordpress.com
So Yeah, Blues Dance (a tumblr account with humorous gifs on Blues dancing): http://soyeahbluesdance.tumblr.com
Blues Dance World: http://bluesdanceworld.com
Wandering and Pondering by Jerry Salmonte: http://jsalmonte.wordpress.com/2010/12/03/your-dancing-sucks-but-this-post-isnt-about-that/
Confessing The Blues: http://www.confessingtheblues.com/
Swing & Blues by Jered Morin: http://www.jeredmorin.com
Voices of the Jazz Era Ballroom: http://www.jazzeravoices.org/
Masculine versus Sharp: Say What You Mean (From Lindy Hop and Blues instructor Joey Science's blog that addresses the use and effect of gendered language in dancing: https://www.joeyscience.com/single-post/2016/02/14/Masculine-versus-Sharp-Say-What-You-Mean
Healing Through Blues Dancing (The Healing Power of Blues Dancing) Crosscurrents from KALW NEWS: http://kalwnews.org/audio/2011/01/12/healing-through-blues-dancing_786430.html and also on NPR.org: http://www.npr.org/2011/08/20/139790041/the-healing-power-of-blues-dancing

 

 

National (U.S.A.) Blues Dancing Events:


Austin Blues Party (Austin, TX): http://www.austinbluesparty.com/
bluesSHOUT! (Traveling Event): http://www.bluesshout.com/
Emerald City Blues Festival (Seattle, WA): http://www.emeraldcityblues.com/
bamBLOOZled (Washington, DC): http://www.capitalblues.org/bambloozled/
Mile High Blues (Denver, CO): http://www.milehighblues.com/
Mezzjelly Blues (Traveling Event): http://www.mezzjellyblues.com
North Star Blues (Minneapolis, MN): http://www.northstarblues.com/
Rain City Blues (Seattle, WA): http://www.raincityblues.com/
Rose City Blues (Portland, OR): http://www.rosecityblues.com
Space City Blues (Houston, TX): http://www.spacecityblueshouston.com
Steel City Blues Festival (Pittsburgh, PA): http://www.steelcityblues.com/
Snowbound Blues (Rochester, NY): http://www.snowboundblues.com
Sweet Molasses Blues (Boston, MA): https://www.sweetmolassesblues.com/

 

 

International Blues Dancing Events:

 

Blues Battle (Toronto, ON, Canada): bluesbattle.ca
Fallin' In Blues (Grenoble, France): fib.grenobleswing.com/en
Korea Blues Camp (Gyeonggi-do, Korea): koreabluescamp.com
Drag The Blues (Barcelona, Spain): dragtheblues.com
Moonshine Lindy & Blues Festival (Edinburgh/Peebles, Scotland): swingscotland.co.uk/events-moonshine.html 
Blues Baby Blues (London, England): bluesbabyblues.com 
Breizh Blues Invasion (Rennes, France): breizhbluesinvasion.com/index.php/en/
Black Swan Blues (Perth, WA, Australia): blackswanblues.com/

Porto Blues Exchange: porto-blues-exchange.com/


Blues Dance venues, organizations, and instruction in the U.S.A:


AUSTIN, TX: Code Blue: http://www.austinbluesdance.com/

HOUSTON, TX: Blues/Fusion Dance at Nouveau Antique Bar: https://www.facebook.com/groups/HoustonBluesDance/

CHICAGO, IL: Big City Blues: http://bigcityblues.net/

INDIANAPOLIS, IN: Circle City Blues: http://circlecityblues.org/

SEATTLE, WA:
Alibi Blues, Tuesday nights: https://www.facebook.com/AlibiBlues/
Blues Underground, every 1st Friday of the month: https://www.facebook.com/groups/BluesUnderground/

SAN FRANCISCO, CA:
Friday Night Blues: http://www.sundownblues.com/
Shades of Blues, Monday nights (Blues/Fusion/Alternative venue): http://www.facebook.com/danceblues
Beat The Blues, Wednesday nights (Berkeley): http://www.sundownblues.com/
South Bay Fusion, Thursday Nights (Redwood City, Blues/Fusion venue): http://southbayfusion.com/

ST. LOUIS, MO: Blues Dance St. Louis: https://www.facebook.com/BluesDanceSTL/

 

 

Blues Dance venues, organizations, around the world:

 

TORONTO, ON, CANADA: Toronto Blues

SYDNEY, NSW, AUSTRALIA: Swing Patrol Juke Joint

MELBOURNE, VIC, AUSTRALIA: Swing Patrol Blues Night

SEOUL, SOUTH KOREA: Blues Dance Seoul

BARCELONA, SPAIN: Blue Move BCN

LONDON, ENGLAND: Sin City Blues

 

 

Photographers of the amazing images on this site:


Nuria Aguade: http://www.nuriaaguade.com/
Ben Hejkal: http://www.benhejkal.com/ 
Jay Blakesberg: http://www.blakesberg.com/ 
Braden Nesin: http://interrobangme.com/ 
Dennis Goetz: http://dennisgoetz.com/
Larry Colen: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ellarsee
Zac Wine: http://www.winelabelpictures.com/
Jared Luxenberg: http://www.jaredlux.com/ 
Aristomenis Pikeas: http://pikeas.smugmug.com/
Keir Briscoe: http://keirbriscoe.smugmug.com/
Aaron Blumenshine: http://www.aaronblumenshine.com/
Charlie V Photography: http://www.charlievphotography.com/